It’s Here: Blue & Lonesome by The Rolling Stones

by Norm Gregory on December 2, 2016

in Music



Eric Clapton Will Return to the Road, Briefly

by Norm Gregory on November 29, 2016

in Music

The semiretired guitarist Eric Clapton, now 71, has settled upon a slate of live shows for 2017: two at Madison Square Garden in New York on March 19 and 20, and two at the Forum in Los Angeles on March 25 and 26. And that’s all, according to an announcement on Monday.

The news came with the acknowledgment that Mr. Clapton had said last year that he would cease touring. ‘I swear this is it, no more,’ the guitarist wrote in the program for shows celebrating his 70th birthday in New York and London. ‘I know I’ve been threatening retirement for the last 50 years, but I didn’t think I’d ever really want to stop. I love what I do and always have done, but over the last few decades I’ve found what I was always really looking for, a loving family who love me just the way I am.’ (Mr. Clapton had hinted at the same conclusion in 2014, telling an interviewer, ‘It takes so long to get anywhere.’)”

(Via The New York Times.)


Screen Shot 2016 11 29 at 12 07 05 AMThe Eagles are finished.

Don Henley is direct. The way he describes it, the group he helped lead since 1971 died with his longtime musical partner Glenn Frey.

‘I don’t see how we could go out and play without the guy who started the band,’ says Henley.

He sits inside the Tudor mansion in Lincoln, Massachusetts, that serves as the headquarters for the Walden Woods Project. Henley founded the nonprofit organization in 1990 to protect the land that inspired 19th-century transcendentalist Henry David Thoreau. He flew here for this interview, a reminder of how he has always separated what is public, being in one of America’s most popular bands, from the private, his life as a husband and father in Texas.”

(Via SFGate.)